Have to respectfully disagree with you on your basic presumption on the
As long as I can remember (1963 or so) the GCR has clearly stated in the
first few lines that the rules are strictly permissive regulations.
In other words if the GCR does NOT say you CAN do it, you CAN'T.
Your friend was clever with the alternator, but he was cheating. He
assumed the rules as definitive, but they are not. Never have been.
It the book does not say you can gut the alternator, YOU CAN'T. The
book does not say you cannot drop a V 8 in your sprite. Think you can?