[Top] [All Lists]

Re: A deal that may be too good to be true

To: David <dcrawfor@san.rr.com>
Subject: Re: A deal that may be too good to be true
From: Blue One Hundred <healey.nut@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 21 Sep 2005 15:48:43 +0800
Exact same thing happened with my BN1 which I saw on ebay but bought off
ebay (after the winning bidder backed out - I called the seller just in
case)... so they aren't all scams. the guy I bought it from was first rate
all the way, and the car (when it arrived) was better than I expected. He
did, however, send me about 100 digital pictures of the car, so I pretty
much knew he was on the up and up.
 '53 BN1 '64 BJ8
 On 9/21/05, David <dcrawfor@san.rr.com> wrote:
> Lee,
> I bought my BN1 a few years ago from a fellow who had advertised it on
> eBay without getting a single bid. A week later I sent an email
> asking if the car was still for sale. We exchanged emails, offers and
> counter offers, 35 photos and phone calls, and after verifying that he
> was indeed a reputable dealer in vintage cars (owns an active
> dealership in St. Louis), we came to an agreement. He got his check
> and I got my Healey. We were both pleased with the transaction. I
> still am. We still exchange emails now and then. Nice to make new
> friends.
> David
> San Diego
> '54BN1
> '60 MGA
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: Lee Mairs
> To: healeys@autox.team.net
> Sent: Tuesday, September 20, 2005 1:51 PM
> Subject: Re: A deal that may be too good to be true
> I bought my 1962 BT-7 Tri-carb off EBay, but I flew to San Francisco
> and
> drove to Stockton to make sure it was what had been advertised. I
> actually
> wanted to get out of the deal, but the low account, no good seller had
> it
> sitting in the driveway all polished and shiny with the top down.
> I didn't have a chance...
> Lee Mairs
> Romney, WV
> BT7 Tri-Carb

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>